The Government of India has not yet eased its ban on international flights or consular processing services.  The latest announcement from the Government confirms:

  • All scheduled international commercial passenger services will remain closed until July 15, 2020, with exceptions for select routes for which international flights may be permitted made on a case-by-case basis.
  • All Indian visa services (excluding in-country registration, visa extension and other in-country services) remain suspended until further notice.
  • The government has temporarily permitted the FRROs and FROs to provide certain essential consular services. Consular processed visas, electronic visas (e-visas) or stipulations of stay endorsed on the visas, which are set to expire until July 15, 2020 will be extended on a gratis basis for a period of 30 days from July 15, 2020. To avail of this service, the foreign national in India must make an online application on the e-FRRO portal.
  • Foreign nationals whose visas have expired and who have made an application to exit the country, will be granted an Exit Permit without being subject to any penalty for overstay.