Several countries around the globe have imposed COVID-19 testing as part of their pre-travel requirements.  In line with these measures, Australia has joined the list of countries requiring COVID-19 testing, with the Department of Home Affairs in Australia announcing new measures.  Commencing on January 22, 2021, anyone traveling or transiting through Australia must provide evidence of a negative COVID-19 PCR test to the airline prior to departure.  The COVID-19 PCR test must be taken at least 72 hours prior to departure.

The negative PCR COVID-19 test results must be in English and include the following information:

  • Traveler’s name and date of birth
  • The test result (such as ‘negative or ‘not detected’)
  • The method of test conducted (must be PCR test)
  • The date the specimen was collected
  • The date the test result was authorized and the name of the authorizing officer/entity
  • Name and address of the laboratory / clinic / facility that administered the test
  • Accreditation body that the laboratory is affiliated with, if known

A paper-based record is preferred, however, electronic records will be accepted. Children under four years of age at the time of boarding will not be required to receive the COVID-19 PCR test.  All other COVID-19 pre-travel requirements remain in effect – i.e., approved exemption to the current travel restriction. We are expecting that entry measures will continue to be adjusted according to the epidemic.

Please watch the Global Travel Navigator tool and follow our blog, The Mobile Workforce, for additional information.