Effective December 23, 2023, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan has lifted Türkiye’s visa requirement for six countries: United States, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Canada, Saudi Arabia, and Oman. Tourists from these countries are now permitted to spend 90 days out of a 180-day period in Türkiye without a visa. Previously, foreign nationals from these countries were required to obtain an e-visa for trade and tourism which could cost up to $78.50 depending on their nationality. The Presidential Decree was published on December 23, 2023, in the Resmî Gazete, the Official Gazette of the Republic of Türkiye.