Photo of María E. Ferré

On February 15, 2022, the Chilean government issued an extension of its border restrictions through the end of March 2022. Specifically, the government issued Decree No. 34, modifying Decree No. 295 of 2021, to continue the government’s legal authorization to impose restrictions on the entry and exit of individuals through the country’s borders. In issuing the new decree, the government emphasized that further modifications may be made in response to the changing nature of the pandemic around the world.

Continue Reading Chile Extends Authorization for Border Restrictions through End of March 2022

Effective February 21, 2022, the Australian government will reopen the country’s borders to all fully vaccinated visa holders. The government’s announcement means that, for the first time in nearly two years, fully vaccinated tourists, business travelers, and others will be allowed to enter Australia without first receiving a travel exemption. The easing of entry restrictions also comes as Australia is experiencing a 23% decline in COVID-related hospitalizations as the omicron wave begins to fall.

Continue Reading Australia Plans to Reopen to All Fully Vaccinated Visa Holders, Including Visitors

On January 31, 2022, the Chilean government extended and modified various border restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic. The government’s announcement extends the border restrictions through at least February 28, 2022, and removes omicron-related travel bans on seven African countries, namely South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, and Mozambique.

Continue Reading Chile Eases COVID-Related Border Restrictions

Effective January 20, 2022, South Korea will require all international arriving passengers to present documentation of a negative COVID-19 test within 48 hours of their departure date. At present, passengers arriving from overseas must present proof of a negative COVID-19 test within 72 hours of departure. The South Korean government’s announcement is a response to the rapid spread of the omicron variant.

Continue Reading South Korea Updates Pandemic-Related Entry Requirements

Effective December 15, 2021, the Australian government will allow fully vaccinated travelers in eligible visa categories to travel to and from Australia without needing to apply for a travel exemption. The government had previously planned to ease travel restrictions beginning December 1, but postponed those plans because of the identification of the omicron variant. In a press conference, Prime Minister Scott Morrison confirmed that the easing of travel restrictions will move forward as planned beginning December 15.

Continue Reading Australia Eases Border Restrictions for Eligible Visa Holders

On November 29, 2021, the Chilean government announced that it would postpone the relaxation of various pandemic-related entry restrictions. The relaxation was set to begin on December 1 but has been delayed indefinitely due the emergence of the omicron variant. The government’s announcement also included the imposition of travel restrictions covering seven African nations.

Continue Reading Chile Delays Relaxation of Border Restrictions Due to Omicron Variant

On November 26, 2021, Taiwan announced that it would add six African countries – South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, and Zimbabwe – to its list of “key high-risk countries,” effective November 29, 2021. Effective December 1, Taiwan also added Malawi, Mozambique, Egypt, and Nigeria to the list of key high-risk countries. Individuals who have traveled in any of these ten countries within the past fourteen days must quarantine at government group quarantine facilities for fourteen days and complete an additional seven-day self-health management period. The announcements are part of Taiwan’s effort to slow the spread of the omicron variant of the coronavirus.

Continue Reading Taiwan Updates Entry Restrictions in Light of Omicron Variant

On November 29, 2021, the Australian government announced that it would delay its plan to reopen the country to fully vaccinated visa holders in light of the identification of the omicron variant of the coronavirus. The delay is effective through at least December 15, 2021, and applies to students, skilled workers, and those carrying humanitarian, working holiday, and family visas. In its announcement, the government cited the need to gather more information to better understand the omicron variant, including its transmissibility, severity, and interaction with existing vaccines.

Continue Reading Australia Postpones Relaxation of Entry Restrictions for Visa Holders

In response to the identification of the omicron variant of the SARS-CoV-2 virus, several countries around the world have implemented new travel restrictions aimed at slowing the spread of the disease. In the Americas region alone, several countries—including Brazil, Canada, Chile, and the United States—have announced new restrictions on the entry of foreign nationals. Other countries, such as Mexico, have insisted that such measures are of little use.

Continue Reading Countries Impose Travel Restrictions to Slow Spread of Omicron Variant