Following the March 11, 2020 “Proclamation on the Suspension of Entry as Immigrants and Nonimmigrants of Certain Additional Persons Who Pose a Risk of Transmitting Coronavirus,” which suspends travel from the 26 Schengen countries in Europe, the White House has expanded the ban’s coverage to include the United Kingdom and Ireland.  The March 14, 2020 Proclamation is based on World Health Organization reports on the growing number of COVID-19 cases in both countries.  Effective Monday, March 16, 2020, travelers who have been physically present in the United Kingdom or Ireland in the prior 14-day period will not be admitted to the United States.  US citizens are not subject to the Proclamation.  Among others, exceptions to the ban are made for US permanent residents and certain family members of US citizens and US permanent residents.  Both Proclamation are in effect “until terminated by the President.”  As part of the implementation of the bans, the US Department of Homeland Security has announced that any traveler with a valid ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization) who is subject to the Proclamation and who attempts to travel the United States in violation of the Proclamation will have their ESTA canceled.  An ESTA approval authorizes a traveler to board a carrier for travel to the United States under the Visa Waiver Program.